I have no will power when it comes to sales so when I was confronted with four pounds of strawberries for five dollars I couldn’t resist. The only problem was they were about a day away from spoiling. In an attempt to salvage my berries I decided to make my own fruit leather.

Surprisingly fruit leather is quite easy to make, it’s just time consuming. I put mine in the oven early in the morning and it was done later that evening. Nonetheless the majority of the work only takes about 30 minutes.

8 cups strawberries, chopped
2 cups mango, chopped
2 Tsp agave nectar
1/4 cup hibiscus flowers

In a large pot combine strawberries and mango; place over medium heat.

Mash fruit until a liquid starts to form. Stir in Agave nectar.

Place hibiscus flowers in a cheese cloth and tie to secure them. Place hibiscus pouch in the centre of the pot and cover with fruit.

Lower heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes.

remove and discard hibiscus pouch and pour fruit into a food processor; pulse until smooth.

Pour and spread fruit puree over two parchment lined baking sheets.

Bake at 150 for 8-10 hours until leather peels away from parchment paper

Cut fruit leather into strips and roll up between pieces of wax paper.

Store in an air tight container in a dark place for up to two weeks.

Fruit leather can also be frozen.